I heard about this restaurant from Klay Thompson of the Warriors. Like, in person, he told me about it.  I met him at a signing event at Lefty’s.  I asked him what his favorite restaurant in the bay area was, and named Montecatini’s. I told him I was going to try it, and last night we did!

Well, Klay, unfortunately, wasn’t there last night when we were there, but I spoke to the ultra-friendly owners who said he (and his teammates) come in all the time.

The place was packed and hoppin’ – you should definitely have a reservation.
As soon as you walk in, you know you’re in a happening restaurant – the great smell of home cooked Italian food, lots of happy people eating food having lively conversations, the clinking sound of silverware and dishes – the minute you walk in, you know you’re going to have a good experience here.  And we did.

Shout out to waitress Janeen who, to me, was the perfect waitress.  If we could bottle her and take her with us to every restaurant we go to, that would be perfect. She was:

*  warm and friendly
*  was excited to talk about the food on the menu and give her personal recommendations
*  didn’t rush us, told us to take our time, even when we were being indecisive about our order
*  responded to our playfulness and goofiness
*  always checked in with us to see how we were doing

Here’s what we had:

WARM SPINACH SALAD (5/5)  Simple is always the best way to go.  This dish was just spinach, mushrooms, pancetta and a warm vinaigrette.  Really good. We shared and it was gone in two seconds.  Would order again.

SEAFOOD (VIAREGINNA) PASTA (4/5) My daughter’s dish – she liked it. Very hearty, enjoyable dish.

VEAL PARMIGIANA (4/5) Again, very good.  Not the best I’ve had but it’s solid.  I prefer a tangier, sweeter sauce.

CALAMARI STEAK (5/5) The star of the night – everyone agreed.  You don’t find this at many restaurants.  Nicely done, with a salty capers sauce.  Would order again for sure.

When we walked in, the owner greeted us, she knew us by our reservation name – she was expecting us!  That’s awesome.  Very rare experience.

And when we were walking out, the owner is *again* by the door greeting us, with her chef husband.  What the heck!?  Felt like we came over to their home for dinner.

This is a special restaurant.  They’ve got it all going on.  Comfort food served here with service that will make you feel like family.”  - Darien R. | 8-13-2017 Yelp

“A double thumbs up for this restaurant. Had the osso bucco (which was a special for the night) and it was the best I ever had. Excellent wine list too. And a very friendly wait staff. Will definitely go back even though this restaurant is not very close to home – it’s just that good and worth the drive!” - 5-5-2016
“Best Italian food in the Valley by far. Food is incredible! Don’t let the exterior fool you. It has an appearance of a small “hole in the wall” joint yet when you go in it has a cool SF vibe with tasteful decor. Great for date nights or special celebration dinners. Everyone I’ve ever taken there loves it. Just love this place!” - Gary W. | 2-6-2016
This is pretty much our go to restaurant. Love the service, love the food. Recommended to order our faves: carpaccio, escargot and the peppered steak and the lasagna. Still wanna try the happy hour sound like great pricing. “ - Raquel O. | 1-2-2016
Came here for a date night on Wednesday and had a great experience. Came in with a groupon for 2 entrees and bottle of wine, it was such a good deal. Juan was our waiter and he was amazing! Helped me pick my appetizer, wine, entree and dessert; clearly I am a very indecisive person lol. We came in during happy hour so got a great deal on wine by the glass which allowed us to take our bottle of wine home. I ordered the Fettuccine Alla Viareggina which included scallops, large prawns, bay shrimp and fresh mushrooms in a tomato cream sauce. Huge portions and large amounts seafood, definitely not skimpy. Overall really good night and my boyfriend and I have already made plans to come back.” – Cierra S. | 2-18-2016
“The service was awesome, even though the place was packed. The hostess was very welcoming. The escargot appetizer was delicious and there was great bread to dunk in the garlic butter. I had the roasted chicken under a brick-flawless. My partner had the peppercorn NY steak which was done perfectly. By the time we left there was a line out the door! Thanks for a great dining experience, we will definitely be back.” - Matt S. | 12-21-2015
“My absolute favorite Italian Restaurant in the bay. Try the gamberi scampi- and carpaccio , you will not be disappointed. The wait staff is friendly and personable and make excellent suggestions for wine pairing, or the various menu options to suit your palate. Every dessert I’ve ever had here is absolutely mouth watering. Doesnt get much better than this.”- Lulu E. | 11-11-2015
“Best food in the bay area! The sauces are perfectly balanced. Gnocci is amazing and the strawberries zabaione is to die for. Been going here for 20+ years and it just gets better and better every time.” – Ola R. | 8-30-2014
“Excellent Italian food and very authentic! Love the service and ambiance as well!!! Will go there again!”- K.W. | 8-24-2014
“This is our favorite go to restaurant. The veal parmiagiano with red cream sauce is a favorite. I love the seafood over fettuccini which also comes with the red cream sauce. Service is exceptional and we love the consistency and warmth!”- truckeesusan | 8-19-2014
“We had our first experience here and we felt the food was excellent, portions were large and were pleasantly surprised they have a happy hour menu even on Saturday! Their salad was very fresh, chicken cooked under a brick was divine and their eggplant Parmesan was as good as I’ve ever had. I go to italy twice a year and the quest for authentic Italian food is constant! We were happy to find this charming cozy spot with great food and a great vibe! We will go back for sure!”
- Healthyduo | 8-16-2014
“Every time my brother comes into town we go here. This place has never let us down. The food is always excellent. Best Italian food in Walnut Creek. The best veal dish around. The food is always hot to the table.”- Rose | 8-10-2014
“Been twice in past months and both times food has been outstanding. Waiter service is superb. Highly recommended.”- TBaylog | 8-6-2014

“Last night, having my favorite time sitting at the bar watching the A’s and yacking with the bartenders. I ordered a Caesar salad for my starter, and a glass of The Prisoner wine along with the crispy duck in a brown sauce with Mushrooms. Jenny is back and showed me pictures of her new baby girl. Danny the bartender was great as usual and Juan always has good stories! A WoW meal….

- David C | 7-26-2014

“I’ve been coming here since 1990, and it’s still as good as ever. Great Italian just like you like with a great selection of regular menu items with daily specials that just keep you coming back. My only complaint is the noise level when they are full. While I understand they are shooting for an authentic Italian feel to the place, they need to put in some acoustic tile. The new owners Chef Ermes Paulin, and his wife Teresa Cheung have added some great touches to the place, such as printing the specials and, of course, adding Open Table reservations. There is also now a happy hour! This is my favorite Italian place in the entire bay area, due to it’s plain simplicity and great people.

- Themblues | 7-19-2014

“We were there to celebrate my dad’s birthday. We didn’t tell the staff but the presents probably gave it away. When our dessert arrived my dads had a candle in it. A perfect small gesture that made all the difference. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was perfect. We will be there again.”

- TheImmortal1 | 6-20-2014

“Montecatini has a long history in Walnut Creek for a very good reason: the chef has remained at the restaurant and ensures that the food is fresh, beautifully prepared, and wonderfully tasty. This is the best of classic Italian dishes with a complementary, diverse wine list.”

- dineNwine | 6-6-2014

“We enjoyed everything about Montecatini. I always think that when I see several “regular” customers, a place has to be good. We saw dates, families, younger and older patrons all enjoying excellent meals and service. Staff is very professional without being pretentious and the food was perfect!”

- Allingoodtaste | 5-10-2014

“Great little restaurant in downtown Walnut Creek. Food is delicious and service is great! Montecatini is one of those places you go to over and over again and never get bored of the food or the atmosphere! I highly recommend it!”

- Marie C – 4-11-2014

Read More Reviews…

reviews

 

yelp open table

 

 

Dine In, To Go or Delivery!

Place your order at 925-943-6608 for pick up or click below for free deliveries.

_order

Make a Reservation!
Call us at (925) 943-6608 or click here to make a reservation.